Law in Contemporary Society
Tuesday, January 13

i)The Beatles - Revolution

ii)Chaka Khan (?) - Have a little faith in me

Thursday, January 15

i) Hymn: "Jerusalem" Music by: C. Hubert Parry

ii) Ellis Marsalis

iii) Ralph McTell(?) - Streets of London

Tuesday, January 20

Paul Robeson (CLS '23) (anyone recall the song?)

Thursday, January 22

John Denver / James Oppenheim (?) - Bread and roses

Tuesday, January 27

i)Jon Anderson - So long ago, so clear

ii) Richard Rodgers /Lorentz Hart (?) - My romance

Tuesday, January 29

i)Merle Haggard (?) - Poncho and Lefty

ii)Blossom Dearie (?) - They say it's spring

Tuesday, February 3

i) And the Band Played Waltzing Matilda - Eric Bogle

ii) Billy Bragg - The Internationale (in German)

Thursday, February 5

i) The Internationale (in English)

ii)Christine Lavin - Don't ever call your sweetheart by his name

Tuesday, February 10

i) Bruce Springsteen - Racing in the Street

ii) Sandy Denny (?) - Who knows where the time goes

Tuesday, February 17

i) Spanish song (?)

ii) Tom Waits - Step right up

Thursday, February 19

i) Bruce Springsteen - Factory

Tuesday, February 24

Bonnie Raitt - One Part Be My Lover

Tuesday, March 10

i) Jann Arden - Good Mother

ii) Amazing Grace

Thursday, Mar 12

Lerner & Lowe - Wouldn't It be Loverly (Tierney Sutton version)

Tuesday, Mar 24

Randy Newman - Political Science

Thursday, March 26
(pure speculation)
i) Malvina Reynolds - Little Boxes

ii) Hugh Laurie - The Sophisticated Song

iii) Janice Joplin Mercedes Benz

Tuesday, March 31

Amazing Grace - Joan Baez/ Paul Robeson

Thursday, April 2

Streets of London (someone suggested above that the artist could be Ralph McTell? . It also sounds a bit like Ron Fetner, so there's another possibility)

Thursday, April 9

Blossom Dearie - They Say It's Spring

Tuesday, April 14

The Beatles (?) - Blackbird

Un-recalled Dates
Willie Nelson - Poncho and Lefty
Unknown Artist - Bread and Roses (Eben is actually listed in the wikipedia entry for the phrase "Bread and Roses")
Nina Simone
Ella Fitzgerald - Mack the Knife

Did anybody catch the name of the 17/18th century ballad?

Number of times Thelonious Monk's name has been mentioned in class: 3
Number of Thelonious Monk tunes played: 0


Webs Webs

r21 - 13 Jan 2012 - 22:01:33 - IanSullivan
This site is powered by the TWiki collaboration platform.
All material on this collaboration platform is the property of the contributing authors.
All material marked as authored by Eben Moglen is available under the license terms CC-BY-SA version 4.
Syndicate this site RSSATOM